“On the Streets” – Los Angeles Times documentary series on homelessness

Homlessness, Inequality, Los Angeles, personal experience

Los Angeles Times reporter Lisa Biagiotti has started a twelve part documentary series on homelessness in Los Angeles. The objective of the series is to connect the staggering statistics on homelessness in Los Angeles with the personal stories of people who are experiencing homelessness in the city.

The documentary is free and accessible to view on youtube, here is the link: ON THE STREETS — a feature documentary on homelessness in L.A.

The series is very effective at showing how varied experiences (and causes) of homelessness can be.

Some of the many quotes from the homeless people who were interviewed by Biagiotti in the film include:

“We’ve only been homeless for about two months…my husband and I had a set back…and then we lost everything, and now we’re down here [skid row].”

“I used to be somebody, now I’m somebody else, you know what I mean? I have a high school diploma and a college degree and they look at me like I’m homeless…I’m not homeless, I’m houseless because I don’t have a house. Homelessness is a state of mind.”

“It’s not sad but if you can’t make a certain amount [of money] and buy and apartment and afford to eat and do other things…you have to [live in your car].”

“My husband got arrested…because a guy attacked me. Now he’s serving 180 days and I ain’t got nowhere to go right now…he [my husband] told me to stay over here by the jail until I get out, but he don’t get out until December 31st and I don’t got no where to go.”

 

 

2 thoughts on ““On the Streets” – Los Angeles Times documentary series on homelessness

  1. Thank you for sharing this post, Lily. We can spend millions on campaign ads but can’t get homes for our most vulnerable. It is a national disgrace.
    D. Holt

Leave a Reply

